fbpx
skip to Main Content
(207) 338 – 6575 info@mainefarmlandtrust.org STORE

Action Alert: Support Balanced Solar Development in Maine

MFT supports renewable energy production on farms as long as it does not significantly diminish the potential for agricultural production.

On-site energy production can provide economic support to a farm, reduce the farm’s energy costs, and is important for addressing climate change. But making sure we have the land base to support a robust local and regional food system – and food security in Maine – is also critical. Solar development in the state should not result in the loss of important agricultural soils, displace agricultural production, or impede the ability of farmers to access the land they need for their agricultural operations. Solar generation and agriculture can co-exist symbiotically in Maine as long as solar siting is structured to balance these important interests.

LD 856 as amended would advance key recommendations from the Agricultural Solar Siting Stakeholder Group that incentivize the siting of solar energy projects that minimize impacts to important agricultural resources. These recommendations would:

  • Ensure that agricultural stakeholders are involved in siting work sessions to make sure that impacts to important agricultural and natural resources are considered, and that well-sited projects, including solar development on lands with significant PFAS contamination, are prioritized and supported in renewable energy programs;
  • Support the development and research of dual-use solar projects by reserving at least 20 MW of capacity for a dual-use pilot program focused on the integration of solar projects with different types of agricultural production systems;
  • Create a centralized database of information, including agricultural impact trends, related to approved and constructed renewable energy projects; and
  • Provide more technical assistance to municipalities as they work to evaluate solar projects.

TAKE ACTION

The Maine Legislature’s Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry (ACF) Committee will be holding a hearing on the amendment to LD 856 on Tuesday, March 1st at 12:30pm. Please consider submitting written testimony and/or signing up to deliver oral testimony in support of the bill HERE. Once there, select “public hearing,” select the Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry Committee, the date of the hearing (March 1st at 12:30pm), and the bill title (LD 856 – An Act to Balance Renewable Energy Development with Natural and Working Lands Conservation). You will then be able to upload written comments and/or sign up to provide live testimony. If you have any questions, you can always email the ACF clerk, Cheryl McGowan, at acf@legislature.maine.gov.

You could also contact the members of the ACF Committee to express your support for the amendment to LD 856. The members of the Committee include:

Sen. James F. Dill, Chair (D-Penobscot): James.Dill@legislature.maine.gov
Sen. Chloe S. Maxmin (D-Lincoln): Chloe.Maxmin@legislature.maine.gov
Sen. Russell Black (R-Franklin): Russell.Black@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Margaret M. O’Neil, Chair (D-Saco): Margaret.ONeil@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. David Harold McCrea (D-Fort Fairfield): David.McCrea@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Scott Landry, Jr. (D-Farmington): Scott.Landry@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Laurie Osher (D-Orono): Laurie.Osher@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Randall C. Hall (R-Wilton): Randall.Hall@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Thomas H. Skolfield (R-Weld): Thomas.Skolfield@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Susan Bernard (R-Caribou): Susan.Bernard@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Jeffrey Gifford (R-Lincoln): Jeffery.Gifford@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Joseph Underwood (R-Presque Isle): Joseph.Underwood@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. William D. Pluecker (I-Warren): William.Pluecker@legislature.maine.gov

Back To Top