Contact Staff & Board

Maine Farmland Trust

mail: 97 Main Street, Belfast, Maine 04915

call: (207) 338 – 6575

fax: (207) 338 – 6024

email: info@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Belfast & Gallery: 97 Main St, Belfast, ME 04915

Unity: 38 School Street, Unity, ME 04988

Portland: 509 Ocean Ave, Portland, ME 04103

Gallery and offices are open Monday – Friday, 9am – 4pm

Interested in volunteering? Sign up here!

CONTACT

LEADERSHIP & ADMINISTRATION

Amanda Beal

President and CEO

abeal@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Erica Buswell

Erica Buswell

Vice President of Programs

ebuswell@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Andrea Denny

Andrea Denny

Database Manager

adenny@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Rachel Taker

Rachel Taker

Finance Manager

rachel@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Kristin Varnum

Kristin Varnum

Vice President and CFO

kvarnum@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Reeve Wood, Esq.

Legal Counsel

rwood@mainefarmlandtrust.org

LouAnna Perkins, Esq.

Senior Legal Counsel

louanna@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Kim Sanborn

Kim Sanborn

Office Assistant

kim@mainefarmlandtrust.org

FARMLAND PROTECTION

Charlie Baldwin

Charlie Baldwin

Farmland Protection Project Manager

cbaldwin@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Adam Bishop

Adam Bishop

Farmland Protection Program Director

abishop@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Chris Cabot

Chris Cabot

Farmland Protection Project Manager

ccabot@mainefarmlandtrust.org

April Costa

Lands Steward

acosta@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Chris Franklin

Farmland Protection Project Manager

cfranklin@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Caitlin Hopkins

Farmland Protection and Stewardship Associate

chopkins@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Lyndsey Marston

Lyndsey Marston

Stewardship Program Director

lmarston@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Tricia Rouleau

Tricia Rouleau

Farmland Protection Project Manager

trouleau@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Brett Sykes

Brett Sykes

Farmland Protection Project Manager

brett@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Nina Young

Nina Young

Project Development Specialist

Designated Broker, Maine Farms Realty

nyoung@mainefarmlandtrust.org

FARMLAND ACCESS

Sue Lanpher

Sue Lanpher

FarmLink Coordinator

info@mainefarmlink.org

Beth Wade

Broker & REALTOR®, Maine Farms Realty

bwade@mainefarmsrealty.com

Nina Young

Nina Young

Project Development Specialist

Designated Broker, Maine Farms Realty

nyoung@mainefarmlandtrust.org

FARM VIABILITY

Catherine Durkin

Food Access Project Coordinator

catherine@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Abby Farnham

Abby Farnham

Food Access Project Coordinator, Southern Maine

abby@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Alex Fouliard

Alex Fouliard

Farming for Wholesale Project Manager

alex@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Shannon Grimes

Shannon Grimes

Nutrition Incentives Project Manager

shannon@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Khris Flack

Khris Hogg

Program Manager, Veggies For All

khogg@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Elizabeth Sprague

Farm Business Planning Project Manager

esprague@mainefarmlandtrust.org

OUTREACH & PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT

Anna Witholt Abaldo

Gallery Curator

Co-Director, Joseph A. Fiore Art Center

anna@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Erin Cavallaro

Development Director

erin@mainefarmlandtrust.org

David Dewey

Fine Arts Program, Co-Director

ddewey@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Karen Giles

Gallery Coordinator

karen@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Caroline Ginsberg

Caroline Ginsberg

Membership Director

caroline@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Ellen Griswold

Policy & Research Director

egriswold@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Rachel Keidan

Outreach Assistant

rkeidan@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Victoria Kulwicki

Grants Officer

victoria@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Andrew Marshall

David and Cecile Wang Food & Farming Fellow

amarshall@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Meg McCormick

Development Officer

mmccormick@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Meghan Quinn

Meghan Quinn

Event Manager

meghan@mainefarmlandtrust.org

Ellen Sabina

Ellen Sabina

Outreach Director

ellen@mainefarmlandtrust.org

BOARD

William Bell, Saco

Bill Bell, a magna cum laude graduate of Yale, is an experienced association manager specializing in agricultural issues. He has served as the executive of groups ranging from the New England Grain and Feed Council to the Maine Association of Conservation Districts. He has also been an owner-operator of a large organic farm in southern Maine and has served as president of the Agricultural Council of Maine and of Maine Farmland Trust board.

Franklin Miles, Cape Elizabeth

Frank Miles is a retired public school teacher and administrator. With a lifelong interest in agriculture, Frank is one of the founding board members of MFT and has served as board Secretary, President, and Treasurer, and currently serves on both the Executive Committee and the Lands Committee. He has represented MFT on the Agricultural Council of Maine since 2005, and has served as Vice-president, President and currently Treasurer of AGCOM.

Jason Bolton, Orono

Jason Bolton, Ph.D. is the University of Maine Cooperative Extension Food Safety Specialist, Associate Extension Professor, where he works with food companies in Maine/U.S. on facility design, HACCP implementation, thermal process validation, regulation interpretation and new product development. He is a cooperating faculty member with the University of Maine School of Food and Agriculture, where he performs research in the areas of food processing and brewing sciences and teaches courses on commercial brewing and food safety. Dr. Bolton provides process services in the areas of seafood, meat and poultry and acidified canned food products and offers industry courses on Meat and Poultry HACCP, Seafood HACCP, Better Process Control School, FSMA, and Sanitation.

Dave Colson, Durham

Dave currently leads MOFGA’s Agricultural Services Program, after nearly 3 decades of farming. In the early 1980’s, he bought land in Durham and began farming with his parents, and was joined by his wife Chris a few years later. Eventually his parents retired from farming, and he and Chris kept the operation going strong, raising a variety of produce for many of Southern Maine’s leading restaurants and independent retailers. Since taking the position of Agricultural Services Director at MOFGA, New Leaf Farm has scaled back to a haying and green manure operation, but Dave continues to mentor and educate many new and established farmers throughout Maine each year.

Stacy Brenner, Scarborough

Stacy Brenner lives and farms at Broadturn Farm in Scarborough with her husband, John Bliss and two daughters, Emma and Flora. They raise vegetables and flowers, host weddings and operate a summer day camp that focuses on connecting a young community with where nutritious and sustainable food comes from. Stacy is devoted to understanding and improving farmland preservation, farmland tenancy arrangements and organic agriculture as an economic driver for the state of Maine. Her resume includes work as a barista, an orchid greenhouse caretaker, a cotton farmer and a nurse-midwife. She holds a BS in Agriculture from the University of Arizona, and BSN and an MSN in nursing from the University of Pennsylvania. She’s been settled in Maine since 2002.

Meredith Eilers: Vice Chair, Bowdoinham

Originally from Long Island, NY, Meredith got involved with farming while at Dartmouth College, working on the school’s farm. Later, she and her husband, Dave, moved to California, where she worked for the California Wilderness Coalition. During these transformational years, she witnessed every step of the process to designate federal land in California as wilderness, from grassroots organizing to drafting congressional legislation. She also learned that she might like to be a lawyer, which then took her to the Vermont Law School, and eventually to working at Bernstein Shur, where she focuses on business litigation and construction law. In 2014, Meredith’s family purchased what is now Blue Bell Farm in Bowdoinham (MFT holds a conservation easement on the property). Meredith and Dave have two daughters, Eleanor and Margaret, and feel like they are living the dream.

Susan Morris, Waldoboro

Susan Morris grew up amongst horses, cows, hens, pigs, and authors (her father was a publisher) in Massachusetts.  After she returned from serving in the Peace Corps in India, she married her husband John, taught and studied in Philadelphia, and moved to Maine in 1970. Susan has been managing her family’s organic blueberry farm in Waldoboro since 1970. She is a founder of Medomak Valley Land Trust and continues to serve on its board. Susan was also a founding member of MFT’s board.

Neil Crane, Exeter

Neil is a full time, third generation potato and grain farmer in the Exeter, East Corinth area. His farm developed a potato marketing relationship with Frito-Lay in the early 60’s and continues to sell to the company. Neil spends a lot of time helping with farm work during summer months, though the fourth and fifth generation are now actively managing the farm business. Neil has played an active role in many potato and agricultural organizations, and has served in several capacities on town committees and on the local school board for many years.

Walter Fletcher, Pittsfield

Walter grew up on his family’s dairy farm in Westford, Massachusetts. In 1980 he and his wife, Edna, purchased a rundown farm in Pittsfield, Maine and now manage a herd of 240 milk cows and 225 calves and heifers. In 2009, Walter’s son Austin returned to the family farm and is a full partner and farm manager today. Walter has been actively involved with Eastern Breeders Cooperative, Massachusetts Farm Bureau, Maine Farm Bureau, Agway, Yankee Milk Co-op, Agri-Mark Milk Co-op and Maine Dairy Industry Association. He is currently a member of the Agri-Mark Board of Directors.

Taylor Mudge

Taylor Mudge: Chair, Camden

Taylor Mudge is a hop farmer in Lincolnville. Originally from Pittsburg, PA, Taylor bought his farm in 1970 and raised 300 ewes from meat and wool, as well as research animals for Yale Medical School. He founded the State of Maine Cheese Company in Rockland in 1984, where he made cheddar cheese with milk from local dairy farms. After selling the business, he moved into consulting and founded a production company. Taylor currently serves as a board member for the Maine 4H Foundation, Tanglewood and Blueberry Cove Camps, and is the board chair at MFT.

Eleanor Kinney, Bremen

Eleanor is an organic farmer, impact investor and mother of three. Her focus is on building local, sustainable food systems, and she invests in farms and food businesses across the state. Eleanor serves on the steering committee of Slow Money Maine, and the Impact Investment Committee of Maine Community Foundation. She is passionate about growing food, raising awareness, and aligning her investments with her values.

Jon Olson, Mount Vernon

Jon Olson is the former executive director of Maine Farm Bureau, a position he held for 35 years until his retirement.   He has a B.A. degree from St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota and a M. Div degree from Bangor Theological Seminary.  He resides in Mt. Vernon with his wife, Alice.

Stephen Page: Secretary, Searsmont

Steve Page is a farmer and entrepreneur. He planted his first apple orchard on a homestead in Knox County in 1974. In 1990 he planted a commercial orchard in Waldo County, and protected his farm with an agricultural conservation easement in 1997. To support his farming habit, Steve has started several small businesses, worked for the Maine Department of Environmental Protection, and has been a leader in Maine’s aquaculture industry, pioneering sustainable offshore aquaculture.  He is now back on land raising a few cows and planting trees.

James Lawrence, Rockport

A graduate of Harvard University, James has a strong background in finance, investments, and strategy consulting developed over almost two decades in the fields of investment banking and private-equity investing.  He has acted as an advisor and consultant to public and private companies and non-profit organizations in the United States and Europe.  His family runs Allandale Farm in Boston, MA, the last working farm operating within metropolitan city limits in the United States.

Henry Whittemore: Treasurer, Readfield

Henry Whittemore is Principal of Crow’s Nest Collaborative, a global forestry investment and management services consultancy, and has more than twenty-five years of global timberland management experience. Prior to establishing his own company, he was senior director of an international timberland investment fund and the regional manager for a large timberland investment management organization. Early in his career, he worked with landowners in New Hampshire to develop conservation strategies for farms and forestland permanently protected through conservation easements.  He holds a BA from Williams College and a Masters in Forestry from Yale University, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies.